Bite Size Protein!

So I came across another recipe on Pinterest a few months ago and when I read “It’s basically like no bake cookies” I was sold! The recipe was basically a bunch of things I already had at my house! The last time I made them, they weren’t so bite sized and I didn’t toast the coconuts and I didn’t have chocolate chips, I am excited to see how they will be this time!

What you will need:

1. 1 cup dry Oatmeal –I used thick cut old fashioned oats
2. 2/3 cup TOASTED coconut flakes
3. 1/2 cup peanut butter
4. 1/2 cup flaxseed (ground or unground)
5. 1/2 cup chocolate chips (optional, but sooo much better with them!)
6. 1/3 cup honey
7. 1 Tbsp. chia seeds
8. 1 tsp. vanilla extract

2013-05-29_18.00.40
The process:

The first thing I would recommend starting is toasting the coconut. If you don’t know the proper way to do this than:

*Preheat your oven to 300 degrees.
*On a cookie sheet, lay out your coconut in a thin layer
*The coconut will cook for about 15ish minutes. I recommend setting your oven timer in 5 minute incriments so that you remember to rotate your coconut for even toasting.

2013-05-29_18.25.20

While you are beginning to toast your coconut, combine oatmeal, flaxseed, chocolate chips, and chia seeds. Then add in the wet ingredients: peanut butter, honey, vanilla extract. Mix all together. By this time, your coconut should be about done. Add do your mixture.

2013-05-29_18.09.59

2013-05-29_18.11.30

Chill in the fridge for about 30 minutes. Roll into bite sized balls.

2013-05-29_19.21.43

Yield: 20-25

2013-05-29_19.38.13
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

