Refrigerator Oatmeal-A Morning Lifesaver!

I started a job about a month ago and have to get up at 4:45AM. I came across the website :

http://www.theyummylife.com/Refrigerator_Oatmeal

This has changed my life! I make five in jars Sunday night and they are ready for me to grab each morning and eat at work!

Here is my step by step on assembling them:

You will need:
-Chia Seeds (Health food section of your grocery store)
-Oats (the slow cook kind, and no, not steel cut oats either..I buy them in bulk in the Fred Meyer health section)
-Coconut milk/almond milk/rice milk
-Greek yogurt (I prefer the honey flavor)
-And whatever toppings you want. The website has many different flavor combos, but my favorite so far has been any fruit (pictured are mango and strawberry) with a little cinnamon and honey on top!

1. Grab five mason jars (the ingredients are enough to fill a pint size jar). I like the short ones, they remind me more of bowls. Add 1-1/2 TBSP Chia Seeds
20130519_174858

2. Add 1/4 C. Oats
20130519_174947

3. Add 1/4 C. milk (whatever you chose)
20130519_175039

4. Add 1/4 C. yogurt. I would now recommend stirring your ingredients so the oats are soaked properly and the Chia Seeds get mixed.
20130519_175138

5. Now the fun part! Add your toppings!
20130519_175629

6. Store in the refrigerator. I wouldn’t recomment storing longer than five days, you may be able to store longer but I have only tested five days worth 🙂
20130519_180203

Let me know what flavor combos you come up with!

Leave a Reply

